Hooded Warbler
Eastern Kingbird
Black-crowned Night-Heron
Yellow-throated Warbler
American Goldfinch
Horned Lark
American Robin
Purple Martin
Snowy Owl
Hooded Merganser
Northern Harrier
Hudsonian Godwit
Broad-winged Hawk
Rose-breasted Grosbeak
Prairie Warbler
Eastern Meadowlark
Northern Shoveler
Grasshopper Sparrow
Scarlet Tanager
Northern Saw-whet-owl
Belted Kingfisher
Bay-breasted Warbler
Northern Parula
Ring-necked Duck
Horned Grebe
Black-and-white Warbler
Magnolia Warbler
Black-bellied Plover
Blue-gray Gnatcatcher
Laughing Gull
Ring-necked Pheasant

Earl Poole Award


The Earl Poole award is presented annually to a person or persons who have made significant contributions to Pennsylvania'a ornithology. This may be in the form of research, volunteer efforts, publications, field work, or any other pursuit that has increased our knowledge and understanding of the birdlife in Pennsylvania.


How to nominate a person for this award


If you would like to nominate a person or persons for this award, send information about the nominee to the PSO Vice-President. Information should include the person's name and address, a brief resume, and why you think this person deserves the award.


Winners of the Earl Poole Award


2019 Nick Bolgiano
2018 Greg Grove
2017 Scott Weidensaul
2016 Robert Mulvihill
2015 Robert Curry
2014 Scott Stolesen
2013 Terry Master
2012 Laurie Goodrich
2011 Gary Edwards
2010 Jerry McWilliams
2009 Nick Pulcinella
2008 Jack Holcomb
2007 Doug Gross
2006 Margaret Higbee
2005 Margaret Buckwalter
2004 Dan Brauning
2003 Paul Hess
2002 Phillips B. Street
2001 Franklin & Barbara Haas
2000 William Reid
1999 Edward Fingerhood
1998 Ralph Bell
1997 Paul Schwalbe
1996 Robert Leberman
1995 Jean Stull Cunningham